Everything All at Once

I’m sitting on the corner of 23rd and P writing this one, so there will be no Fresh Prince-referencing opener today. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

 

My second week of work is coming to a close fairly soon, so I thought it’d be a good time to reflect on what has occurred since arriving in DC and starting my tenure at Church of the Pilgrims. However, my writing is being accompanied by an onslaught of some of the most efficient, ankle-loving mosquitos I’ve ever encountered so please excuse any moments where it seems like I lost my train of thought; I probably did.

 

As I mentioned in my last post, music does a much better job of explaining my thought process(es)/emotion(s) than I can. So I’m going to try to use that to my advantage today.

 

“Why don’t we fight sleep?”

 

The hook of the song aptly named “Fight Sleep” by Dagny – which I highly recommend if you need some positive vibes – is all too applicable right now. The last two and a half weeks have been an incredible, confusing, exhilarating, and draining whirlwind. The adrenaline of leaving home and moving somewhere new is beginning to wear off as I settle into my surroundings. I want to be very clear that I am in no way complaining. In fact, I’m even more excited for this year than I was when I got off the train I was writing to you from last time. I’m tired but have plenty of access to coffee so I’ll for sure survive.

 

“All at once, everything,

Every cup overflowing.

All at once, all I need,

Every heart overflowing.”

 

The chorus to my favorite song of the new Local Natives album has been my anthem for the past week. For fellow YAVs and YAVAs, the first line may be a little humorous. Everything has definitely been all at once. The other lines are the ones that really hit home for me, specifically the way people I’ve known forever, people I’m getting to know, and people I’ve never even met are supporting all of us.

 

I have to admit, at first it was a bit much for me. I’m definitely an independent person, so I didn’t really believe anyone when they told me to be sure to be open to the support system that would be in place. Something in the back of my  mind was convinced I wouldn’t need it. Why exactly that piece was saying that is interesting to me, but something I haven’t quite figured out yet. But as the adrenaline of the first few weeks wears off, I’ll be the first person to say that it is definitely not the case that I will be able to handle this year alone so I couldn’t be more grateful that the inner-voice had no control over the support system being established.

 

I was tempted to go into a full analysis of the chorus, but honestly I would end up typing your eyes off. Instead, I will just extend yet another thank you for the continuing and building support. If there’s ever something specific you’re wanting to hear about feel free to contact me in whatever way you choose and I’ll do my best to oblige! Thanks for taking the time to read this and I’ll talk to you again soon… probably.

Leave a Reply

