A Letter from Cody

Dear Family & Friends,

I am excited to share with you that I have been chosen by the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) to serve for one year as a Young Adult Volunteer in Washington, D.C.  This is an incredible opportunity for me to explore a new place, build new relationships, and attempt to make a positive impact on people in new ways.  As part of my commitment, I need to raise $3000 in gifts and pledges for my year of service, and I’m hoping that you will support me in this effort.

Through the Young Adult Volunteer program (YAV) of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A), I will be joining over 90 other young adults serving at 16 different sites both here in the United States and around the world.  While I am still learning about my specific responsibilities, I will be working beside the poor and low-income residents of DC and have the unique opportunity to engage issues such as poverty, hunger, and homelessness on the policy level.

I know that this year’s experience is going to be life-changing for me.  It will involve living outside my comfort zone and what is familiar to me, something I’m both particularly excited and nervous about.  It will involve focusing on the needs of others.  It will involve journeying in faith and trusting God in new ways.

I hope that you will consider making a gift or pledge toward my financial support.  The timing is critical as I need to raise $1500 by July 1st.

Thank you so much for your time spent reading this letter as well as your constant emotional and spiritual support through the years.  Anything you can give is much appreciated, even if that is something as simple as an encouraging phone call or letter throughout my year in DC.  I’m excited for this new adventure and sharing my experiences with everyone as it progresses!

Sincerely,

Cody Westbrook

 

Ways to Give:

Online – Donations can be made online by following this link:  http://www.presbyterianmission.org/donate/e051477/

*Type Cody Westbrook in the comments section so that your donation will be credited to my account.

Checks –  Checks can be mailed to:  Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), P. O. Box 643700, Pittsburgh, PA  15264-3700

*Write “Cody Westbrook-E051477” in the memo line so that your donation will be credited to my account.

 

Leave a Reply

